
The Alabama Board of Examiners in Counseling (ABEC) proposes the following changes to the Administrative Code.  Interested 
persons may present their views in writing to the Executive Officer of the Alabama Board of Examiners in Counseling at any time 
during the 52-day period following the 31st day of July, 2012, or if requested in advance by personally appearing at Room 765, 
Medical Forum Building, 950 22nd Street North, Birmingham, AL at 10:00 a.m., Friday, September 21, 2012.  (New text underlined, 
deleted text lined through)  Entire text of Administrative Code located under the Laws and Rules link on our website: 
www.abec.alabama.gov.   
 
255-X-1-.08  Finances. 
(1) The Board shall set fees and no part of any fee shall be refundable under any conditions.  The following fee schedule is effective 
January 1, 2010. 
(2)  The following fees shall be in effect: 
(a) through (l) No change. 
(m) LPC Reinstatement under 255-X-7-.01(3)(a)  $500.00 
 
255-X-3-.03(g) Continuing Education Credit. 
One (1) contact hour (.10) of CEU  continuing education credit may be earned for each ten (10) clock hours of supervision of an 
associate licensed counselor.  Up to, but no more than, ten (10) contact hours of the required forty (40) hours of continuing education 
credit may be earned by providing one hundred (100) clock hours of supervision of an associate licensed counselor.  Approved 
supervisors may obtain up to, but no more than, one (1.0) continuing education credit (CEU) for one hundred (100) hours of 
supervision in a two year period. Up to ten (10) contact hours of the required forty (40) hours of continuing education may be earned 
by supervision of a Supervising Associate. Supervising Counselors may obtain up to, but no more than, one (1.0) ten (10) contact 
hours of continuing education credit (CEU) for forty-eight (48) clock hours of supervision-of-supervision of a Supervising Associate 
in a two year period A Supervising Counselor may earn up to, but no more than, one (1) contact hour of continuing education credit 
for each ten (10) clock hours of supervision provided to a licensee who requires supervision of counseling practice as a result of a 
disciplinary action taken by the board. A Supervising Counselor may earn a maximum of ten (10) contact hours of continuing 
education credit during a two-year period for supervision provided under this regulation. 
 
255-X-7-.01  Licensed Professional Counselor (LPC) Renewal. 
(3) Renewal Fee.  A renewal fee, approved by the Board, is required for any LPC license renewal. Checks should be payable to the 
Alabama Board of Examiners in Counseling. Failure to pay the biennial renewal fee by August 1 of the renewal year shall 
automatically suspend the right of any LPC to practice while delinquent. Such lapsed license may be renewed within a period of two 
(2) years after payment of a renewal fee to be determined by the Board. Any LPC who does not meet the requirements specified in 
255-X-7-.01(3)(a) and whose license has lapsed beyond six (6) years must reapply under the current regulations for initial licensure. 
 
255-X-7-.01(3)(a) 
The license of any person licensed as a professional counselor who has allowed their license to lapse for fifteen (15) years or less, and 
who has been in a profession for at least eight (8) years where counseling is a part of the daily routine of the profession including, but 
not limited to, service as a school principal, school vice principal, school psychometrist, or school psychologist, shall be reinstated 
upon the payment of a fee of five hundred dollars ($500) and evidence satisfactory to the board of the completion of forty (40) hours 
of relevant professional and continuing education earned in the twenty-four (24) month period  prior to requesting the reinstatement. 
Of the forty (40) hours of cotninuing education required, six (6) hours must be devoted to ethical concerns for practice, assessment, 
supervision, or research in counseling. The forty (40) hours of continuing education must also meet the requirement for real-time 
participation as specified in 255-X-7-.01(4)(e). The applicant for reinstatement must also provide written documentation verifying that 
he/she has been in a profession for at least eight (8) years where counseling as defined in 255-X-2-.01(2)(a) is a part of the daily 
routine. The initial term of the reinstated license may be less than or greater than two (2) years depending on the date of issuance of 
the license and will expire July 31 of the renewal year. 
 
255-X-7-.01(5) Audit of LPC Renewals. Beginning August 1, 2012, the Board will conduct a mandatory random audit of 10 percent 
(10%) of LPC renewal applications for the most recent renewal period. The audit is to ensure that the continuing education 
requirement is being met. 
(a) An LPC whose renewal is selected for audit is required to send verification of his/her continuing education to the Board office 
within thirty (30) days of the date of receipt of the audit notice. Failure to submit verification of continuing education within the thirty 
(30) day period automatically results in a formal disciplinary action by the Board. The Board will review the records and respond to 
the individuals with a statement of compliance or non-compliance. 
(b) LPCs who submit documentation that is unclear or questionable for renewal purposes may be required to submit additional 
documentation. LPCs who are unable to submit satisfactory verification of the required approved continuing education listed in the 
renewal application are subject to formal disciplinary action by the Board. Non-Compliance. In the case of non-compliance with 
continuing education requirements, the audited LPC will have a three (3) month compliance period to meet continuing education 
requirements. During the three (3) month compliance period, the Board may initiate a complaint citing the licensee with failure to 
meet continuing education requirements for renewal. During the three (3) month compliance period, the licensee may request an 
immediate hearing before the board concerning the continuing education requirements in question. Failure to meet continuing 
education requirements within the three (3) month compliance period may result in formal disciplinary action by the board. 
(c) LPCs audited for licensure renewal will be subject to random audit selections in subsequent renewal periods. Successful selection 
for audit review will not remove an LPC from audit review in any subsequent renewal period. 
 
255-X-7-.02(4) Expired License. Applicants who seek to renew an ALC license more than twelve (12) months from the expiration 
date of their last active license must pay the published renewal fee. The renewed license shall bear an issuance date corresponding to 
the approval date of the renewal and shall expire twelve (12) months from the date of issue. The renewal application must be 
accompanied by documentation acceptable to the Board of continuing education activities of no less than ten (10) clock hours accrued 
within the twelve (12) months immediately preceding the request for renewal. The ten (10) hours of continuing education must contain 
a minimum of two (2) clock hours of continuing education devoted to ethical concerns for practice, assessment, supervision, or 
research in counseling. An ALC must also submit a proposed plan of supervision for approval by the Board. Any associate licensed 
counselor whose license has lapsed beyond six (6) years must reapply under the current regulations for initial licensure. 


